Movie Review: Hunger Games by therealHNF

Back in effect!! I haven’t posted in a while, so let me use this movie review to knock the cobwebs off my ball sack..I went to go see The Hunger Games about a week ago, solely based on the fact that we’ve all been bombarded with its promotional campaign for months, so my girl was basically like:

So I had no choice but to waste my money go…(Sidebar: that’s not a real picture of her)..I didn’t even know the movie was based on a book, so I had no expectations for it..All I saw were a couple previews about some bit’ slingin’ bow & arrows around in the future..Wait, WHAT?! Niggas is using bow and arrows in the FUTURE?!! And I’m supposed to buy that?  I guess in this post-apocalyptic world – where the movie is set- niggas just took all the guns and gave us slingshots…But that’s beside the point.  In my opinion, the backlash from white people about the casting choices was more interesting than the movie itself, and I’ll get to that in a minute…Here’s the movie in a nutshell:

Kids are chosen to murk each other…

The White Girl doesn’t die..The end.

Now let’s get to the “controversy.”  A lot of white people out there were upset, some even going so far as to say that the movie was “ruined” because there were black characters in the movie…What I don’t like is how celebrities are heavily promoted as starring in a movie, and they are literally in one scene..The black characters in The Hunger Games made a shorter appearance than them.  The little black girl met Katniss (The Main White Girl) in one scene, and died in the next scene. Katniss knew her for a day, and this was her appropriate reaction to the death of a person she only knew for 24 hours:

I can’t say I’m surprised at the backlash of casting black actors, even though the characters in the book upon which the movie is based are black. Why am I not surprised, you say? Looks like it’s time for a

POP QUIZ!!

What does a Mexican, a Mohican, a Persian, and Jesus all have in common?

A.) They wear Percy Miller Jerseys

B.) They secretly know all the words to a Mindless Behavior song

 

C.) THEY’RE ALL WHITE!!

*Please do not rely on Hollywood for racial or historical accuracy*

