Sparkle: Movie Review pt. 2 by: @therealHNF

Perhaps I was a bit harsh in my critique of the movie yesterday.  While the premise of the movie “Sparkle” (young girls persuing their musical dreams) is similar to the movie “Dream Girls”, it does have a slightly unexpected twist towards the end which makes it Red Box-able.  I admit that Whitney Houston’s death is what made me go to the theater to see it, but once I saw her on-screen, she seemed like someone distant to me.  Maybe it’s because I haven’t really seen her in a positive light since the late 90s or early 2000s, but she seemed like not only a star that has dimmed, but one that has completely blown its fuse.  Although there were solid performances, the movie was a little too PG/Churchy for me, like I wouldn’t have been surprised if the Disney symbol was at the beginning of the movie credits.  I would recommend to go the theater to see it, only if you want to support Black films and see Whitney Houston’s last performance.

 

